LSU Wins 10th SEC Baseball Tournament Title

LSU defeated Vanderbilt 5-4 in 11 innings behind strong performances from Jared Foster, Chris Cotton and little-used Chris Sciambra. Sciambra doubled-in the winning run in the top of the 11th and Chris Cotton got his 3rd save and 16th of the season in shutting down Vanderbilt in the bottom of the frame. It was LSU's 10th SEC tournament title, which is 3 more than anyone else in the conference (Mississippi State has 7 titles). Coach Paul Mainieri has brought 5 teams to Hoover and won the title 4 times.

Cotton was named tournament MVP while 3B Christian Ibarra, OF Jared Foster & DH Sean McMullen also made the all-tournament team.

The Tigers were also named one of the 16 regional sites for the NCAA tournament. At 11am tomorrow seeding will be announced, which LSU is expected to receive one of eight national seeds.

Cameron Roberson

About Cameron Roberson

I muse and ramble about LSU sports daily. History buff & creative thinker. Coming at you from the Deep South & the heart of LSU Land, Baton Rouge.